Woody Radio DJ Mike Show #19, 6/5/2018


This first show of June happened on an election night here in California. I was advising listeners, if they were watching the election returns on TV, to turn down the volume on their televisions, and instead, turn up the volume on Woody Radio. That way, no matter what happens with the election, it’s always good news.

In this vein, we elected to play the very timely “Election Night” by NYC band The Ks. We also voted “yes” on some new music from Chandler Travis Three-O, Byron Isaacs, Roger Joseph Manning Jr., and Sunshine Boys. And we swept in a whole bunch of other great indie and not-so-indie songs, in a musical landslide.

You know who else deserves your vote? The wonderful DJs of Woody Radio. On any given day of the week, they put together a spectacular array of amazing music. It’s hand curated especially for you. Give them a listen. Oh–and enjoy my show too.

Artist | Title | Album
Gretchen’s Wheel | Imp | Black Box Theory
The Isley Brothers | That Lady, Pts. 1 & 2 | 3+3
Jody Porter | Valerie Sometimes | Pacifier
Jason Berk | Changes By The Day | Everything Old Is New Again
Soundserif | John Titor or the Time Traveler | 12 Pieces In The Shape Of An Apple
Sam Phillips | Pretty Time Bomb | Human Contact Is Never Easy
Cartorson | Hearts On The Highway | Single release
Chandler Travis Three-O | The Mayor of Drunktown | Backward Crooked From the Sunset
Richard Thompson | Shoot Out The Lights | Shoot Out The Lights
The Ks | Election Night | Can’t Get it Together
Richard X. Heyman | Miss Shenandoah Martin | Incognito
Blake Jones & The Trike Shop | At Every Train Stop | Make
Golden Smog | Looking Forward To Seeing You | Weird Tales
Tawny Thiele | Happy Together | The Fowl Tone Sampler
Desario | Wayside | III
R. Stevie Moore & Jason Falkner | Another Day Slips Away | Make It Be
Anton Barbeau | Doctor Don’t Chop My Knee Mama, Ouch Is Another Word | Psychedelic Mynde of Moses
Krista D | Penny for your Thoughts | Look at me… I’m Krista D
Two Dollar Pistols | Gettin’ Gone | You Ruined Everything
Led Zeppelin | Hots On For Nowhere | Presence
Michael Simmons | Dirt Nap | First Days of Summer
Felsen | Waterfall | Breaking Up With Loneliness
The Velvet Underground | Lonesome Cowboy Bill | Loaded
Echo and the Bunnymen | Make Us Blind | Siberia
Agony Aunts | FU4TB Bolth | Single release
Pugwash | The Perfect Summer | Silverlake
Lannie Flowers | About You | Single release
The Taters | New Girlfriend | Taters PARTY
Elk City | Ride The Slide | Everybody’s Insecure
Chris Church | Fall Into Me | Limitations Of Source Tape
Joseph Swidenbank | Back Home | Uncovered
Byron Isaacs | Man Of The Times | Disappearing Man
Juliana Hatfield | Get Off Your Knees | Hey Babe
The Welcome Matt | My Town | More Empire Days
The JAC | Jackson | Drugs Trucks & Jesus
Roger Joseph Manning Jr. | Funhouse | Glamping
Allyson Seconds | Sun Don’t Shine | Little World
Steve Barton | How Can I Believe | Tall Tales And Alibis – 1
The Armoires | Fort Ashby | Incidental Light Show
The Bottle Kids | Back When We Were Young | Let Me In On This Action
XTC | No Thugs in Our House | English Settlement
Grateful Dead | Mama Tried | Grateful Dead
Lisa Said | Hard To Brake | No Turn Left Behind
Spygenius | And Her Snakes Were Decked With Smiles | Pacéphale
Plasticsoul | Keeping a Light On | Therapy
Jayhawks | Real Light | Tomorrow The Green Grass
Sunshine Boys | Save It For A Windy Day | Blue Music
Banjo Bones | Your Medicine Is Bad | Cowboy Dreams
Matt North | Come Here Go Away | Above Ground Fools
Bay City Rollers | Turn On The Radio (Single Version) | Single release
Poplord | Flower Bomb | Poplord vs The Universe


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s