Summer is heating up all over, and on Tuesday nights at Woody Radio, we try to provide a suitable soundtrack. Lots and lots of great new 2018 music continues to roll in, and I am more than happy to share it with you.

Here’s a little secret. Victor Sotelo, of the great Fresno band Sparklejet, has been working on his first solo album, “Homeland Insecurities”. Several weeks ago, he snuck me an advance, unmastered copy of it. I’ve been driving around Sacramento for weeks, with a big smile on my face, listening to this great music that nobody else around here has heard yet. That’s been my little secret. Well, the album is now ready, and Victor’s ready to release it. He sent a couple of completed tracks my way, and I was proud to lead off this week’s show with “Desperately Tired Of White Noise”. Give a listen, and you’ll be ahead of the curve too. Incidentally, Sparklejet’s coming to Sacramento for a show on September 8th at Old Ironsides, so you’ll probably want to be there if you can. https://www.facebook.com/Sparklejetband/

We also got to hear Lannie Flowers’ brand new single for July, “The One”. This is the latest in his monthly series of free, downloadable singles from Spyderpop Records. And none of these songs will be on his forthcoming release, “Home”, so you do need to grab each song as it comes out, before the month ends, because when they’re gone, they’re gone. http://spyderpop.com/

Some of the other bands with new music who are really making my summer a good one were also represented on the show: Sunshine Boys, Byron Isaacs, Chandler Travis Three-O, Braam, Elk City, and more. Give everybody a listen, and you’ll hear what I mean.

And since you’re in the mood for discovering great music, please give all my other colleagues at Woody Radio a listen too. They all have their own tastes in music, but like me, they are always, without fail, all about the music. They carefully curate their shows to bring you the best, most interesting listening experience possible, and if you listen, you’ll get it.

Enjoy the show, and see you next week!

Artist | Title | Album
Victor Sotelo | Desperately Tired Of White Noise | Homeland Insecurities
Sunshine Boys | Only A Million Miles | Blue Music
Byron Isaacs | Disappearing Man | Disappearing Man
Maxi Dunn | Messed Up | The Neglected Gambit
The Who | Had Enough | Who Are You
Pugwash | Easier Done Than Said | Silverlake
Jody Porter | By Your Side | Pacifier
The Corner Laughers | Queen of the Meadow | Matilda Effect
Wire Train | Should She Cry? | Wire Train
Maple Mars | Starting Over (Again) | Galaxyland
Throwback Suburbia | Sinking Feeling | Shot Glass Souvenir
Blake Jones and Tom Magill | Life Turns On A Dime | Single release
Ultra Vivid Scene | Candida | Rev
Sean O’Brien and His Dirty Hands | Mistakes | Mistakes
Taters | Queen of the USA | Single release
The UNDECIDED by Default | Fangin’ it | Totally Undecided
R. Stevie Moore & Jason Falkner | I Am The Best For You | Make It Be
Googen | Never Wanna Lose That Thing | The Fowl Tone Sampler
The Red Button | I Could Get Used to You | She’s About to Cross My Mind
Krista D | Land Mine | Look at me… I’m Krista D
Ass Ponys | Death Car $25 | Little Bastard
Alison Hogan | This Time | Songs From The Third Act
Trip Wire | Long Days Gone | Cold Gas Giants
Lisa Mychols | I Go Wild | Single release
Robert Cray | 1040 Blues | Shame + A Sin
Spygenius | Get Over Yourself | Pacéphale
Gail George | Fool’s Paradise | Follow Your Bliss
Nrbq | Chicken Hearted | Ridin’ In My Car
The Big I Am | Tongue Tied | Single release
Lannie Flowers | The One | March To Home
Bay City Rollers | Turn On The Radio (Single Version) | Bay City Rollers: The Definitive Collection
Lou Reed | Sick Of You | New York
Lindy LaFontaine (with Kyro) | Haunted | Kyro
The Shindig Addicts | Not Long Now | Single release
Chandler Travis Three-O | The Mayor of Drunktown | Backward Crooked From the Sunset
Gene Loves Jezebel | Summertime | Dance Underwater
Richard Thompson | Read About Love | Rumor And Sigh
Adam Marsland | Mau Ke Mana | Bulé
Sam Phillips | When I’m Alone | Push Any Button
Elk City | He’s Having a Baby | Everybody’s Insecure
Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians | If You Were A Priest ( Demo ) | Element Of Light
Anton Barbeau | Milk Churn In The Morning | Magic Act
Sexfresh | True | Vacancy
Braam | Starting To Miss Her | The Things You Think You Have
Kevin Seconds | Masterpiece Unfinished | Don’t Let Me Lose Ya
Sarah Stanley | When I Lose My Heart | Tuesday Girl
The Jayhawks | Clouds | Hollywood Town Hall
The Smiths | This Charming Man | The Smiths (Japanese Import)
Rich McCulley | First Word | Far From My Angel
The Handcuffs | Dirty Glitter | Waiting For The Robot
Steve Barton | When She’s Lost Your Mind | Tall Tales And Alibis – Album 1
Natalie Cortez & the Ultra Violets | She’s Better | Stupid Fresh Or Stupid Bad


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s